HOW MY POEMS HAPPEN

I don’t plan or outline a poem before I write it and I don’t have a subject, a this-poem-is-about. I hear a metrical phrase followed by a second, and from those two lines the rest of the poem develops like stem cells forming an organ. The poem grows into rhyme, blank verse, and the very occasional free verse or prose poem. In addition to what I hear I have two word-a-day e-mail lists, and occasionally a word will catch my notice enough to grow into a poem.

The “about” part grows as the poem does, some into a statement on current society, some about how I feel, some about poetry and being a poet, and some fun with language as an overlooked aspect of poetry.

Through the continuum, I am the ultimate subject.

r3376583474

One thought on “HOW MY POEMS HAPPEN

Leave a Reply

