ON THE VERIZON HORIZON: YES IT ISN’T, NO IT IS

(This is Part Three. Part One is the March 7th Post and Part Two the March 14th post.)

On Wednesday 03/18, I trooped to Verizon on Fordham and the Concourse to inquire about the modem. I was told it was in, but I hadn’t brought my current modem for them to make the SIM switch. I came back Thursday afternoon, and a young saleswoman quickly transferred the SIM from the old modem to the new one.

Back home, when I turned it on I think I saw Three-G pop up momentarily before I was seeing Four-G. I lifted the cover of my MacBook and saw the on-line indicator grayed out. I closed and opened again, and the no-connection message window appeared. I quit everything and restarted, still no connection, and still Four-G showing. Could the WiFi have burned out, corruption in the code or whatever or is that’s possible? Worse, I thought I might be seeing the end of my being able to use the ‘Net at home. But Airport was working, as I discovered when Optimum kicked in. That service requires a password I don’t have since I’m signed up with them, so I might as well have not have had it.

090212171936

As a last act of desperation, I switched back to the older modem, successfully getting in the SIM card on the third try, and damn, there I was on-line.

So, the replacement modem, the modem to replace the deficient modem, is unable to connect this device to the Internet. I’m contemplating whether or not to bring the defective (maybe) piece back.
Stay tuned.

One thought on “ON THE VERIZON HORIZON: YES IT ISN’T, NO IT IS

Leave a Reply

