QUADRATINI CHOCOLAT HAZELNUT CHOCOLATE ENROBED WAFER COOKIES

 ENROBED!

Not coated, covered or dipped in but enrobed.  Synonym, neologism or archaic?

Off we go, and our first stop is MW Third Universal:

1:  to invest or adorn with or as if with a robe; broadly :  attire;

2:  to cover (confections) with a coating (as of chocolate) .

All synonyms refer to clothing or dressing, and the noun is one who dresses, an enrober.

 Dictionary.com

verb (used with object), Imageen·robed, en·rob·ing.

to dress; attire: The king was enrobed in velvet.

Origin

1585–95; en-1  + robe

Also from D.com, questions related:

Enrobing Food is when you are Coating one product with another” Chocolate is a popular one when you cover a biscuit, for instance.

An enrober, according to Wikipedia: machine used in the confectionery industry to coat a food item with a coating medium, typically chocolate.

Cambridge Academic Content Dictionary:

“We do not have an entry for enrobe.”

So, what is it?  Vanity?  Pretentiousness?  The wafer cookies are produced by the Loacker family on a mountain in Sicily, and perhaps they are royalty or wish to be so enrobed in the garment sense.

But wasn’t this entry about a word?  Mostly.  Entries about words (mostly) will appear as things of many things.

11/18/13

11 thoughts on “QUADRATINI CHOCOLAT HAZELNUT CHOCOLATE ENROBED WAFER COOKIES

  1. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before. http://www.yahoo.net

    1. Hi,
      I don’t know how a complimentary comment ended up as Spam! WP seems to have its own logic. Anyway, thank you. I’ll check your site now. I should check my stats and stuff—I had no idea!

      1. Hi,
        I replied through your Friend Say post by mistake. Anyway, here’s my reply.
        Hi,
        Thank you for your comment about my Enrobed! post. This isn’t spam but a post about a word. Poetry, Prose and Anything goes is a strictly non-commercial blog, and as a poetry blog how can it not also be a language blog?. I don’t see in the post the .yahoo link you are referring to, and I wouldn’t have used some mysterious source. Dictionary. Com is certainly legitimate. This was one of my first posts. I don’t know what blogger you’re referring to. The only blogger is me. Note the illustration for a sense of enrobed. One other link, from the word “attire,” http://unabridged.merriam-webster.com/unabridged/attire.

      2. Hi,
        I replied through your Friend Say post by mistake. Anyway, here’s my reply.
        Hi,
        Thank you for your comment about my Enrobed! post. This isn’t spam but a post about a word. Poetry, Prose and Anything goes is a strictly non-commercial blog, and as a poetry blog how can it not also be a language blog?. I don’t see in the post the .yahoo link you are referring to, and I wouldn’t have used some mysterious source. Dictionary. Com is certainly legitimate. This was one of my first posts. I don’t know what blogger you’re referring to. The only blogger is me. Note the illustration for a sense of enrobed. One other link, from the word “attire,” http://unabridged.merriam-webster.com/unabridged/attire.

      3. Alan, so sorry for the misunderstanding!!!! I was referring to the comment on the page, to which you had replied. Many of us bloggers get spam comments that seem normal until we read them a little more closely. I should have explained myself more clearly. Sorry about that.

  2. Hi Alan,
    I see you know Aquileana and Sally Porte.
    I appreciate you visiting my site and “liking” my new post about the importance of target readers, so I wanted to come by and introduce myself. Thanks for both!
    Janice

    1. Thank you for liking my post! I meant to comment on your blog, but I got distracted. Methods for gaining followers are essential for monetized blogs. A full-time successful Blogger can exercise her/his/its creativity without the constraints of the work place.

      My Poetry, Prose and Anything Goes is strictly non-commercial. At this writing I don’t have an exact count of followers, but I think I’m near ninety. I have no idea how I gain followers, nor have I ever sought any. I gain a follower or two just about every time I post, and I receive comments on posts from bloggers I hadn’t known. Many of the commenters became followers, and a few commenters commented on my comments on the posts I receive. More than showcasing my work, I am reading and in contact with writers I wouldn’t know. As my studies progress, I will be posting about various aspects of prosody.

  3. Very enjoyable post about enrobing. I love the photo of–is it a lady baboon–? Is she enrobed for the enjoyment of her King? Many wondrous ponderings have taken flight in my mind from this post…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

